The Fast and the Furious

time

It is approximately 13 miles from my home to my place of employment.  But living in the 4th most populous city in the United States, this 13 mile journey usually takes about an hour.  In addition to the hour-long drive, one thing I can count on is a profusion of angry, reckless drivers.  The drive is filled with honking horns, gesturing fingers, yelling voices, accelerating vehicles and burning rubber; everyone angry because they cannot get to the place they need to be by the time they needs to be there.

I, myself, have sometimes succumbed to the mania.  I’ve honked my horn at inconsiderate drivers and yelled at zooming vehicles, but not because I’m in a rush to get anywhere; rather because this type of driving puts everyone in danger.  I try never to speed when I’m driving.  I will admit, I’m sometimes late for work.  It not because I don’t care about my job, but because I realize that being late is my fault, not the fault of the other drivers.  Thus, it’s beyond logic to become angry with other drivers or put others at risk because I messed up or because of some weather factor beyond anyone’s control.

I get it; we live in a fast-paced society.  Everyone wants everything now! We want our food faster, our computers to process faster, our cars to move faster, our children to compute math facts faster, and to lose weight faster.  Instant gratification is the name of the game.  Time waits for no man!  But what are you really gaining by rushing through a few seconds?

Will the food taste any better if the chef prepares it in 3 minutes rather than 5? Why do you need a car that can go from 0-60 in 4 seconds?  Why are you angry because someone walks through the front door at the office 2 seconds before you?

By rushing through life, we fail to notice and appreciate the little things, the little girl waving at you from the back seat of her parents’ car, the kids laughing on their way to school in the morning, the elderly couple enjoying a cup of coffee together at the local coffee shop in celebration of their 50th wedding anniversary, a meal with your children, the couple walking their dog while holding hands, your children telling you about something funny that happened at school.

Time is free!  No one owns it; everyone has access to it.  You are not wasting it if you are using it in a way that matters.  So, take time out to appreciate what matters most.  No need to rush, because life always gives you more time.  Even when you mess up, you always have more time to fix it.  Spending time being angry and complaining doesn’t make anything better and only steals your time.  Savor every moment you are granted, and enjoy all the time you have.

Leave a comment